Top Menu

  • Top Menu
  • Top Menu

  • Top Menu

  • Calendar
  • Downloads
  • Contact

    Finding Us

    We are in easy reach from various methods of transport:

    94, 237, 266. 207, 260, 283, 228

    Goldhawk Road (Hammersmith and City Line), Ravenscourt Park (District Line)

    Limited parking is available at Hammersmith Academy. Visitors are encouraged to travel via public transport.

    Should you choose to travel by car please be advised that on street parking is available at a cost of £1.10 per half hour (as of April 2013) chargeable between the hours of 9.00am to 5.00pm (Mon-Fri).

    Hammersmith Academy
    25 Cathnor Road
    W12 9JD

    t: 020 8222 6000
    f: 0208 222 6728



Staff and Governors

Staff & Governors

At Hammersmith Academy, we are ambitious for our students and push them to succeed and realise their goals.

Hammersmith Academy Governing Body

Hammersmith Academy has a board of 15 governors, who provide strategic leadership and are ultimately accountable for the performance of the Academy. The governors, who are also trustees, appoint the Headteacher and Deputy Headteacher.

The role of the governing board is to:

  • set the strategic aims and objectives of the school;
  • ratify the policies for achieving those aims and objectives;
  • approve and monitor the Academy’s annual budget;
  • approve and sign the annual report and financial statements; and
  • be a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher, acting as a critical friend.

Eight of our governors are from our sponsor organisations, four from the Mercers’ Company and four from the Information Technologists. Currently, the governing body also includes five community governors, one parent governor, and one from the local authority.

The governing body is organised into four sub-committees, which undertake delegated work on behalf of the full board. The sub-committees are

  • Curriculum;
  • Pay;
  • Finance, Audit and Estates; and
  • Endowment and Reserves.

As and when required, additional sub-committees are convened on a temporary basis to help formulate policy and provide strategic guidance in addressing particular issues that the Academy is facing. These have included to date

  • Curriculum Funding
  • Staff Retention; and
  • Growth and Sustainability.

A full list of governors, along with details of which sub-committees they serve on, can be found below.

SLT surgery

Parents/Carers can arrange to speak to a member of the Senior Leadership Team with any questions or concerns they may have. Appointments can be arranged by emailing the Senior Leadership Team member directly or by using the contact form on the Contact Us page.

Hammersmith Academy Governors

Mr Tom Hartley
Chair of Governors
Appointed by Governing Board
(26/03/2014 – 31/12/2021)
Committees: Curriculum Funding. Pay.
Elected by parents

To contact please email

Or write to us at Hammersmith Academy, 25 Cathnor Road, W12 9JD FAO Mr Tom Hartley

Mr Peter Lane
Vice Chair of Governors
Sponsor Governor
(01/11/2019 – 31/10/2023)
Committees: Finance, Estates & Audit. Endowment. Pay. Staffing & Wellbeing
Appointed by GB/board

Mr Edwin Harrison
Sponsor Governor
(04/12/2018 – 03/12/2022)
Committees: Finance, Estates & Audit Endowment. Staffing & Wellbeing.
Appointed by the Sponsor

Mr Nicholas Birtles
Sponsor Governor
(01/09/2019 – 31/08/2023)
Committees: Finance, Estates & Audit. Endowment. Staffing & Wellbeing. Curriculum Funding.
Appointed by the Sponsor

Mr Niall Aston
Sponsor Governor
(10/06/2020 – 09/06/2024)
Committees: Curriculum.
Appointed by the Sponsor

Ms Karen Langton
Community Governor
(26/06/2020– 25/06/2024)
Committees: Staffing & Wellbeing
Appointed by GB

Ms Roz Hooper
Community Governor
(26/09/2017– 25/09/2021)
Committees: Curriculum. Curriculum Funding.
Appointed by GB

Mr Richard Cassell
Sponsor Governor
(26/09/2018– 25/09/2022)
Committees: Endowment. Pay.
Appointed by the sponsor

Mr Andrew Ellams
Community Governor
(26/09/2018– 25/09/2022)
Committees: Curriculum. Curriculum Funding.
Appointed by GB

Mr Anant Patel
Community Governor
(13/12/2018– 12/12/2022)
Committees: Curriculum.
Appointed by the Sponsor

Mr Stuart Block
Community Governor
(28/06/2019– 27/06/2023)
Committees: Curriculum
Appointed by the GB

Mr Seatal Patel
Sponsor Governor
(13/12/2019– 12/12/2023)
Committees: TBC
Appointed by Sponsor

Ms Kiran Sandford
Sponsor Governor
(23/09/2020– 22/09/2024)
Committees: Finance, Estates & Audit
Appointed by Sponsor

Mr Michael Winslow
Sponsor Governor
(25/06/2021– 24/06/2025)
Committees: Staffing & Wellbeing
Appointed by Sponsor

Ms Jane Slaughter
Community Governor
(18/03/2022– 17/03/2026)
Committees: TBC


Ms Claudette Thompson
Clerk to Governors